Skip to main content

162nd Chamber Day




06.00 p.m


Hotel Monsoon Empress, N H Bypass, Palarivattom, Ernakulam

The Cochin Chamber of Commerce & Industry Celebrated its 162nd Chamber day on Friday the 17th of May, 2019 at hotel Monsoon Empress, Ernakulam.


The Chief Guest for this occasion was Mr. Ashutosh Khajuria, Executive Director & CFO, Federal Bank Mumbai. Mr. Marcel R Parker, Chief Mentor, Quess Corp Limited, Mumbai was the Guest of Honor for the evening.


The programme commenced with a Welcome Address by Mr. V Venugopal, President of the Cochin Chamber of Commerce & Industry. Mr. Venugopal, welcomed all the main guests, Past Presidents, the Executive Committee Members and all the others to the 162nd Chamber Day programme.


Welcome Address was followed by the inauguration of the 162nd Chamber Day with lighting of the lamp by the Chief Guests. Mr. V Venugopal - President of the Chamber, Mr. Venugopal C Govind - senior most Past President of the Chamber and Mr. C S Kartha, Past President and Programme Committee Chairman of the Chamber were present on the dais during the lighting of the Lamp.


Followed by the lighting of the lamp, Mr. Venugopal C Govind, senior most Past President of the Chamber, spoke about the History of the Chamber in retrospect.


Mr. Ashutosh Khajuria, Chief Guest for the evening, spoke on the Indian economy and its comparison with the other economies in the world.


Mr. Marcel R Parker addressed the guests on how important it is to nurture the next generation and the way to go forward for every organization from what they have achieved so far.


The Chief Guests honored the Past Presidents of the Cochin Chamber by adorning them with a ponnada and Presenting a Memento to them.


The President of the Chamber honored former Secretary of the Chamber, Mr. P Sethuram by awarding a memento and adorning a ponnada.


After which the Chamber Released a Souvenir book “A Glorious Voyage that began in 1857”, commemorating the 162 years of existence in the service of Trade and Commerce in the state of Kerala.


Mr. K Harikumar, Vice-President of the Chamber, delivered the Vote of Thanks.


The evening concluded with a networking dinner.